Upload dictations to SpeechLive

You can upload dictations from your computer or connected dictation devices to SpeechLive using the SpeechLive Desktop App.

[Note]Note
  • Please uninstall the old SpeechLive upload client before using the upload functionality of the SpeechLive Desktop App.

  • Encrypted dictations are not supported.

  • We recommend to not run the SpeechLive Desktop App and SpeechExec at the same time to avoid any potential upload conflicts.

[Tip]Tip

To view a summary of your last upload: Right click on the desktop-app-icon.png icon in the notification area and choose Show last upload summary.

Manually upload dictations (Author)

  1. Click on Upload dictationssl-desktop-app_upload-button.png.

  2. Select which typist / team the dictation should be assigned to and click Upload.

    [Note]Note

    If you choose the Remember selection option, you don’t have to select the typist / team the next time you upload a dictation. To change this selection later, go to the settings menu-button.png of the app and choose Upload from device/folder > Preferred typist or team.

  3. Choose the files on your computer or from a connected device and click Upload.

    X The status of the upload will be shown in the Status field of the app and you will also receive a notification that the upload has started.

    X Once the upload is completed you will receive another notification with a summary of the upload in the notification area of your computer.

Manually upload dictations (Typist)

  1. Click on Upload dictationssl-desktop-app_upload-button.png.

  2. Choose the author of the dictation you want to upload.

    [Note]Note
    • If you choose the Remember selected author option, you don’t have to select the author the next time you upload a dictation. To change this selection later, go to the settings menu-button.png of the app and choose Default author for uploads .

    • Typists can only select authors for the upload if they are assigned to the (Default team) of the author. See What is the Default team? for more information.

  3. Click on Upload.

  4. Choose the files on your computer or from a connected device and click Upload.

    X The status of the upload will be shown in the Status field of the app and you will also receive a notification that the upload has started.

    X Once the upload is completed you will receive another notification with a summary of the upload in the notification area of your computer.

Automatically upload dictations from a device (Author)

[Note]Note

Automatic upload is currently not available on Mac, however you are still able to manually upload dictations.

  1. Go to the Settingsmenu-button.png of the app, here you can choose Upload from device/folder and activate the Automatic upload setting.

    [Caution]Caution

    You can also choose Delete after upload, this will delete the dictations after the upload is finished.

    [Note]Note
    • If you use automatic upload from a device and do not select Delete after upload, these files must be manually deleted from the device before the next upload, otherwise previously uploaded dictations will be uploaded again the next time you connect the device. This will create duplicate files with slightly different file names.

    • Activate Minimize to tray to keep the app running in the background. As soon as you connect a device, the automatic upload will start (when activated).

  2. Connect the device to your computer.

    [Note]Note
    • The automatic upload is supported for Philips PocketMemo DPM8000, DPM7000, DPM6000, Olympus DS-9500, DS-9000, DS-7000 and DS-5000.

    • When using automatic uploading from Olympus devices, make sure to set the USB Class of the device to Composite. Automatic upload from Olympus devices always works from the SD card of the devices. Micro SD cards only work if it’s the only SD card inserted to the device, other combinations are not supported.

  3. Select which typist / team the dictation should be assigned to and click Upload.

    [Note]Note
    • If you choose the Remember selection option, you don’t have to select the typist / team the next time you upload a dictation. To change this selection later, go to the settings menu-button.png of the app and choose Upload from device/folder > Preferred typist or team.

    X The status of the upload will be shown in the Status field of the app and you will also receive a notification that the upload has started.

    X Once the upload is completed you will receive another notification with a summary of the upload in the notification area of your computer.

Automatically upload dictations from a device (Typist)

[Note]Note

Automatic upload is currently not available on Mac, however you are still able to manually upload dictations.

  1. Go to the Settingsmenu-button.png of the app, here you can choose Upload dictations from device and activate the Automatic upload setting.

    [Caution]Caution

    You can also choose Delete after upload, this will delete the dictations after the upload is finished.

    [Note]Note
    • If you use automatic upload from a device and do not select Delete after upload, these files must be manually deleted from the device before the next upload, otherwise previously uploaded dictations will be uploaded again the next time you connect the device. This will create duplicate files with slightly different file names.

    • Activate Minimize to tray to keep the app running in the background. As soon as you connect a device, the automatic upload will start (when activated).

  2. Connect the device to your computer.

    [Note]Note
    • The automatic upload is supported for Philips PocketMemo DPM8000, DPM7000, DPM6000, Olympus DS-9500, DS-9000, DS-7000 and DS-5000.

    • When using automatic uploading from Olympus devices, make sure to set the USB Class of the device to Composite. Automatic upload from Olympus devices always works from the SD card of the devices. Micro SD cards only work if it’s the only SD card inserted to the device, other combinations are not supported.

  3. Select the author that should receive the dictation you want to upload and confirm by clicking Upload,

    [Note]Note
    • If you choose the Remember selected author option, you don’t have to select the author the next time you upload a dictation. To change this selection later, go to the settings menu-button.png of the app and choose Default author for uploads .

    • Typists can only select authors for the upload if they are assigned to the (Default team) of the author. See What is the Default team? for more information.

    X The status of the upload will be shown in the Status field of the app and you will also receive a notification that the upload has started.

    X Once the upload is completed you will receive another notification with a summary of the upload in the notification area of your computer.

Automatically upload dictations from a folder (Author)

[Note]Note

Automatic upload is currently not available on Mac, however you are still able to manually upload dictations.

Authors are able to define a folder on their computer from which the SpeechLive Desktop App automatically uploads new dictations to SpeechLive.

  1. Go to the Settingsmenu-button.png of the app, here you can choose Upload from device/folder and activate the Automatic upload setting.

    [Caution]Caution

    You can also choose Delete after upload, this will delete the dictations after the upload is finished.

    [Note]Note

    Activate Minimize to tray to keep the app running in the background. As soon as you connect a device, the automatic upload will start (when activated).

  2. Go to the Settingsmenu-button.png of the app, choose Upload from device/folder and click Select folder. Now you can choose the folder from which you want to automatically upload new dictations.

  3. Place your dictations in the folder you selected in the last step.

  4. Select which typist / team the dictation should be assigned to and click Upload.

    [Note]Note
    • If you choose the Remember selection option, you don’t have to select the typist / team the next time you upload a dictation. To change this selection later, go to the settings menu-button.png of the app and choose Upload from device/folder > Preferred typist or team.

    X The status of the upload will be shown in the Status field of the app and you will also receive a notification that the upload has started.

    X Once the upload is completed you will receive another notification with a summary of the upload in the notification area of your computer.